Birthday (Cake) Ballerina

As April comes to an end, I always feel a bit blue.  Sure, constant rain showers are promised to turn into May flowers, but I can’t help feeling a little excitement drain as the calendar turns a new leaf…my birthday month is now over.

The excuse “it’s my birthday” is no longer valid when I want to justify buying that sundress I don’t need, or painting my nails instead of cleaning the kitchen, or eating a doughnut after rehearsal.  Just kidding, you never need an excuse for doughnuts!

In honor of my 21st birthday, which I have been secretly celebrating for the entire month of April, I’d like to pay homage to the sweetest of all desserts–the birthday cake.  Here is my favorite birthday cake I’ve ever tasted:

IMG_0868

 

It has ballet shoes drawn in icing, so naturally it’s a winner.  But with this dessert, it’s what’s on the inside that counts–chocolate cake with strawberry jam filling.  This cake was simply divine, and the whipped cream frosting on top was melt-in-your-mouth perfection.

My parents ordered this sheet cake from Alpine Pastry Shoppe, which is a family owned & operated bakery on Long Island. (Sidenote: Alpine’s homemade doughnuts and chocolate raspberry crumb cake are also incredible.)  They customized my cake to incorporate my favorite hobby and favorite colors.  My Sweet 16 celebration is still my favorite birthday memory, and this dessert was, as they say, the icing on the cake!

IMG_7129
I celebrated with a lovely Carvel ice cream cake this year!

But no birthday party is complete without the perfect playlist to help guests dance off all that cake!  These are some of my favorite party dance tunes:

  1. Dancing Queen, ABBA
  2. Just Dance, Lady Gaga
  3. I Wanna Dance with Somebody, Whitney Houston
  4. One Dance, Drake
  5. Shut Up and Dance, Walk the Moon

What are some of your favorite songs for moving on the dance floor?  Let me know in the comments!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “Birthday (Cake) Ballerina

Leave a Reply

